Skip to content

Ask an Expert DFDS Ferries - Newcastle to Amsterdam Touring & travel

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Touring & travel > DFDS Ferries - Newcastle to Amsterdam

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

cornbeef76

Jun 07

cornbeef76 says:

DFDS Ferries - Newcastle to Amsterdam

Any suggestions, comments or advice regarding how to secure your bike on the ferry when travelling with DFDS to Holland. This is my first time abroad with my bike and the staff on the end of the phone didn't exactly fill me with confidence about it.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 8 years ago (13 July 2007 01:00)

Post a message in Touring & travel

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
Andyx11

Jul 07

Andyx11 says:

Securing bike on ferries.

I travelled on the Newcastle ferry two weeks ago, and the crew give out two ratchet straps per bike to secure it. But be quick as I saw some of our foreign bretheren grabbing 3 or 4 for their bikes.

Its best to check out your bike now for suitable places that a strap can go!

I find it better to leave the bike on it's sidestand, lock the steering and if possible applying the front brake is a good idea.

On my X11 I can pass one strap through over the top of swing arm pivot just behind the rear wheel and in front of the shock absorber, I have a hugger fitted but it isn't in the way at all. When this one single strap is tensioned up the bike is securely planted to the deck for the trip.

If your really worried fix another strap but make sure it's somewhere safe!