You are in... Forums > General > General > Air-cooled vs. water cooled

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

censuwine

Mar 08

censuwine says:

Air-cooled vs. water cooled

I am a newbie as far as motorcycling is concerned, but I have been bitten by the bug and I am already thinking of trading in my Yamaha YBR125 for a bigger bike.  I've been looking at the BMW R1200R because I think it really looks great.

The problem (or is it?) is that it is air-cooled and I've read somewhere that the trend is now towards water cooled bikes.  Even Harley are moving that way now.

But I think water cooled bikes with a huge radiator showing are as ugly as sin!!  My question is:  Are air-cooled bikes a bad idea particularly since I live in a very hot climate?

Feedback would be most appreciated.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 7 years ago (20 March 2008 14:13)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
52BlackShadow

Jun 03

True Ian......................

You may be surprised how well a 650 would handle long trips.  It all depends what you expect from it.  If you want to speed along at 150 mph all day then get a biggie, but if you want to trickle along at 70 or 80 mph a 650 would be fine for that.

Try a few and then decide what to buy.

Shad.

Reply to this Topic
52BlackShadow

Jun 03

Ian..................................

Sorry Ian, I lumped the GSXr 1000 in with bigguns, my point was if you want to ride that fast continuously then there's no point getting the F650 BMW, but if you just want to tickle along at 70 or 80 all day then a little single or twin may well be enough.