Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

ryszardv57

Aug 08

ryszardv57 says:

Getting your knee down

Hi

I could really do with some expert advice on this one. I have been riding now for 2 years and I have a 2000 Yamaha R6. Overall riding is ok but I still after 2 years haven’t managed to get my knee down but my mates and cousins have all managed so I feel like the lonely sheep.

I have found a nice roundabout not to far from where I live, enough to practice on which I have just started recently. When I go round, I use 3rd gear about 20 MPH. Is this ideal at this speed to practice?

I have seen the instruction video which Michael Neeves says you have to put your feet on the pegs like tip toes which I am doing. But my only concern sometimes though is when I start to see cars start to come to the junction, I don’t know what it is by I have this thing where I see the car and I can't position myself properly and I feel like I will fall of.

I am doing my best to lean as much to look past the mirror but I cannot get my top half of the body of,

What’s your advice on trying to beat this fear of not falling of and leaning better?

Thanks very much for your time

Ryszard

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 7 years ago (17 August 2008 17:47)

Post a message in Riding Skills

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
kestrel69

Nov 05

kestrel69 says:

Safety police

If the trafic on the roundabout is scaring you then you are not ready for this kind of riding manouver!

You may think I'm a member of the above organisation by this reply but I assure you the road is NOT the place to learn how to get your knee down.