Skip to content

General Changing from first up to third gear... General

You are in... Forums > General > General > Changing from first up to third gear...

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

bigDaveF

Jan 09

bigDaveF says:

Changing from first up to third gear...

Hey All,

I'm still relatively new to riding a bike (as evident by the last couple of posts I've made looking for various bits of advice), so apologies if this is a silly question...

I got a Honda CBF 600 last week & have been getting a reasonable feel for it...  It has pretty blistering acceleration in first (or at least relative to what I've been used to in 125cc land for 6/7 years), but I find myself taking advantage of first gear and going pretty fast by the time I change into second, at which point I get a bit of engine breaking/compression kicking in momentarily until it gets up to revs and I almost immediately need to change up to third...  This morning, I changed directly from first to third a couple of times & found it quite a bit smoother...  I've read on a couple of posts on here that you should work the gears as much as possible, but if the power bands for the gears widely overlap, is there anything wrong with skipping one?!?

(I used to do this in my old Focus quite a bit...)

Cheers,

Dave

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 6 years ago (03 March 2009 15:05)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
mikejj

Mar 09

mikejj says:

1st to 3rd