Skip to content

Ask an Expert Should I ship my R6 to Europe? Buying & selling bikes

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Buying & selling bikes > Should I ship my R6 to Europe?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

kenwho

Mar 09

kenwho says:

Should I ship my R6 to Europe?

Looking for advice on shipping my 2006 R6 from California USA to Europe to ride while I am studying in Paris for a few years. I found shippers that will get the bike into the country, but how much trouble will it be to license and insure it in Europe? Any advice?

~k

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 6 years ago (25 March 2009 00:10)

Post a message in Buying & selling bikes

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
LJohno

Mar 09

LJohno says:

Re:

Kenwho: You should definitely ship your bike to Paris! French roads are pretty good, despite being notoriously rickety in places - but generally it's a good place to get speed up and have fun. I'm English and am going to study in France next year too so I will be taking my gsx-r600 with me.

Check out this site for import and registration purposes for France: It's related to Triumph bikes but I suppose it's similar in principle:

- Importing a motorcycle into France -

The procedure for importing a motorcycle into France is as follows:

1) Change your bike to French specifications, at any Triumph dealer.

2) Send a copy of the invoice for labour and parts, plus your vehicle registration document (V55) to: