Skip to content

Ask an Expert Racing without a road licence? New rider

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > New rider > Racing without a road licence?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

Rootes

May 09

Rootes says:

Racing without a road licence?

Hi guys,

I'm new to bikes, although I've been around them my whole life.  I turned 21 in January and will soon be in a position where I can afford to indulge the one thing I've wanted to do for as long as I can remember.

Now I want to turn my hand to racing, I was planning on doing my road licence and going down that route to get my ACU race licence, but the new test/it's cost has really put me off as I never actually intended to ride on the road, just to use it to gain the skills/knowledge needed.

What other routes in to the sport are there, the ACU website mentions training days, or doing trackdays, but I can't find any days that don't require a road licence!

Any info would be greatly appreciated, or am I going to have to bite the bullet and do a road test I don't really need?

Thanks,
Rootes

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 6 years ago (11 May 2009 16:35)

Post a message in New rider

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
iancol

Sep 07

iancol says:

Racing without a road licence

Based on recent reports of successful young riders taking their tests, I'd say there's no reason why you should need a road licence to use a track.

Reply to this Topic
Rootes

May 09

Rootes says:

Racing without a road licence?