Skip to content

General Shaft versus chain (for gizmobrain) General

You are in... Forums > General > General > Shaft versus chain (for gizmobrain)

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

vulcanrog

Oct 05

vulcanrog says:

Shaft versus chain (for gizmobrain)

I am now an expert ! :lol: ---- I have one bike with shaft drive (VN 1500 classic fi) & one with a chain drive (XJR 1300) the advantages are clear, shaft drive is by far the better form of final drive to the rear wheel. Why ? because today I lubricated the chain on my XJR 1300 & have no doubt that by the time I get to Plymouth tommorrow the left side of my currently spotless back wheel will have a film of grease to which all & sundry will stick  despite  my efforts to remove the excess, cenrifugal force will rule the day. today my wife & I rode to Padstow for lunch on the VN 1500, the back wheel is a little dusty but has no film of grease/bugs & shite stuck to it. If indeed gizzabreak is a 'PLIMUFF' boy as surveyor57 suspects I'll be at Jaspers aprox 10:00 hrs we can have a discussion re the pro & cons of chains n fings innit. (I'll be the one on the blue XJR 1300 with a slightly mucky back wheel)

Oh ! and I'm a ------------- BAB ! ---------- I'm 62 yrs old not crashed or caused any crashes, or to my knowledge held anyone up on a Sunday --------- may have done on a Saturday though ! if you see me on the A38 & I'm wobbling a bit it's just my colestomy bag's full & it unbalances the bike, steer clear it leaks now & then.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 6 years ago (29 May 2009 19:23)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
vulcanrog