You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Riding Skills > 25 year break

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

jemerdo

Oct 09

jemerdo says:

25 year break

Like many old duffers, I jumped from 50cc mopeds on to 250s of all sorts as a lad, and also I am ashamed to say a GPZ600R for a while.

25 years on, kids grown up, mortgage paid I got my full license through the DAS. I want a sports bike, or something a bit special looking if it's a naked. Something to polish and fettle and take out on hot evenings and sundays. I've read all sorts of horror stories about novice riders and sports bikes, but don't feel that I'm either a total novice or Mr Invincible either. I ride in trials on a Gas Gas 300 - but when I started trials up again, people told me a 300 would rip up tarmac and dislocate my shoulders! It did neither.

I have the sense and patience to ride slowly and get back into riding, but will never be riding more than 1000 miles a year, and seriously don't want to get injured - life's too good.

I'm 46, 6ft 2 and a bit under 15 stone, pretty healthy and go to the gym when my wife tells me. I like to think I've a few years biking ahead of me. Trouble is, I've sat on street triples and 675s - the quality doesn't look great, I've sat on GSXRs and Blades and 600s - but I'm not sure if I can hack it, I've sat on a 750 Brutale - too small! I don't want a trailee or a BMW, Tourers don't really give me a buzz - so what bike?:huh:

[This Topic has been modified by the Author]

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 5 years ago (08 October 2009 20:39)

Post a message in Riding Skills

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below.