Skip to content

Ask an Expert Honda CBF 500 ABS- Starting Problems Technical

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Technical > Honda CBF 500 ABS- Starting Problems

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

indieracer1

Jan 10

indieracer1 says:

Honda CBF 500 ABS- Starting Problems

I have a Honda CBF 500 ABS. I have had it since new, having purcahased it in April 2006.It has done about 18,000 miles. In the last 6 months I have spent around £1,000.00 on servicing and repairs, including new brakes, battery(twice) rectifier, etc.

One week after spending £600.00 on it, it broke down again.Recovery mechanic thinks it is the starter motor. Can't afford any more labour charges (£50.00 hr at local/all dealers), or new starter motor, (quoted @ £500.00).

I've been told it might be the carbon brushes that need to be replaced (cost about £35.00).

I am thinking of fixing the problem myself, to save money. However am a complete novice, with no mechanical knowledge or manual to guide me. I would welcome any advice as to how I can carry out the work, or may have to sell bike, which I am loathed to do . Many thanks and safe riding.:mad:

[This Topic has been modified by the Author]

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 5 years ago (28 January 2010 20:30)

Post a message in Technical

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
indieracer1

Jan 10

indieracer1 says:

Honda CBF 500

Hi Paulderekjohnson,

Many thanks for uploading the documents.

Reply to this Topic
indieracer1

Jan 10

indieracer1 says:

Honda CBF 500

Hi Jaffa 90,

Very grateful for the advice. Will give it a go.

Reply to this Topic
littleredrooster