You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Insurance > Occupational Category

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

apehanger

Feb 04

apehanger says:

Occupational Category

I have a PhD in Computer Integrated Manufacturing and make a living as an (industrial) robot programmer.

I am employed in robotics and automation line building.

Whenever I try to describe my work insurance clerks are dumbfounded and unable to classify my occupation as they have a proscribed list of vocations. The nearest that they can find is "Systems Engineer / Manufacturing".

What’s more is that my position in the company is in a white collar role as a General Manager.

I have a feeling that I could lay claim to a much cheaper occupational category. I have a doctorate. My profession is Computer Integrated Manufacturing. In a sense, I am a "computer programmer". I am also a manager etc.

What do you recommend as the cheapest insurance classification that would befit my work?

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 5 years ago (27 August 2010 22:39)

Post a message in Insurance

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
SlowLearner

Feb 10

SlowLearner says:

How about...

Brag-head?  :lol:

Reply to this Topic
James600zx

Sep 07

James600zx says:

Occupational Category.

Puppeteer?

Reply to this Topic
AdieR

Apr 08

AdieR says:

Don't have a definitive list to hand

but probably something like Occupation: Site Manager / Factory Manager / Senior Manager, Sector: Engineering.