You are in... Forums > Where to Ride > Track Days > The Nordschleife

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

v1nn1e

Jan 09

v1nn1e says:

The Nordschleife

Part track day, part TT-Mad Sunday, 'Grune Holle' (Green Hell!) is either a mixture of both or something else all together - I can't quite decide!

As a newbie I completed my first laps over the recent WSBK w/e and here are my thoughts to help anyone else that's thinking of giving it a go.

As you're on this forum I assume you're familiar with track days, so I'll start with a comparison...

Similarities:

• No oncomming traffic
  • No speed limit
  • No side junctions
  • No pedestrians
  • Open pit lane
  • marshalling flags

Differences:

• It's a public road
  • Overtaking ONLY on the left
  • About 13 miles long
  • You won't know which way the bends go!
  • Mixed vehicles - cars, vans, people carriers...
  • Only a narrow grass run-off to the Armco

95% of vehicles obey the overtake on the left rule and 'undertaking' is a common cause of accidents. People also signal right to indicate to a faster vehicle to overtake.

Having read a number of articles on the 'ring, what caught me out were the two bends where half the track is concrete rumble strip. I ran wide onto the outer tarmac everytime, although this is very bumpy.

Remember to allow plenty of time for your laps - my 4 took over an hour, partly due to the circuit being closed for a while due to a crash. Do make sure that you slow down for the yellow flags - one corner they were showing and as I came around it there was a large recovery truck blocking most of the road except for a narrow gap just wide enough for a single vechicle!

To use the barriers onto the circuit you need to use a ringcard and your laps are put onto this. The ringcard also combines the cashless system that they use in the short circuit for refreshments and merchandise, although laps and cash are not interchangeable.