Skip to content

General Newbie on motorway with neck ache Help!! General

You are in... Forums > General > General > Newbie on motorway with neck ache Help!!

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

gingerB

Aug 09

gingerB says:

Newbie on motorway with neck ache Help!!

Hi,

I've been riding for 4 years passed test last year but have only just got a big enough bike to go on motorways.  I have a Kawasaki er6n but i'm getting battered at speeds above 60mph.  I can't afford a screen and the suitable ones for my bike dont look that affective so how can i stop my neck ache.  It feels like my head is being blown off :ph43r:

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 4 years ago (05 October 2010 10:41)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
BadD0g

Aug 08

BadD0g says:

Neck ache

If you can't buy a new screen, then the best advice I could give would be endure it, you'll get used to it :)

I don't have any fairing at all and typically cruise at 80-90 on the motorway when conditions allow... I remember it was fairly intense on the neck at the beginning, but it doesn't bother me much any more.  My neck must have strengthened up :D

Also, try tilting your head up and down a bit... I find a few degrees can make a big difference to how your helmet works in the aerodynamics department - then from there you can try putting your helmet on at a slightly different angle, with the chinbar maybe a fraction higher and lower.  Not too dramatic though, as you obviously must wear your helmet in a fashion that it's gonna do it's job if it needs to :)