Skip to content

Ask an Expert What bike to get..... Riding Skills

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Riding Skills > What bike to get.....

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

kyliewantsme

Mar 11

kyliewantsme says:

What bike to get.....

Hello: first post ever.
Sorry if it's in the wrong forum...

Well, I think it's etiquette here to introduce myself.
I am a 49 year old male living in Chester, 6'4" and 15 1/2stone.
I have just finished my DAS course (on an ER5)  passing the Mod2 last Thursday. :smile

I used to ride a 125CC Yamaha when i was a student but I have waited 30 more years to get back in the saddle.

Now that I have realised my ambition, thoughts turn to bikes. I have about £2k to spend and a few machines in mind, but would appreciate your advice considering my inexperience and height / weight.

• Kawa' ZZR600: I really like the looks and the size. It has good reviews? I sat on one at the weekend and felt comfortable.
  • Honda CBR600: It looks similar the the ZZR but I've never sat on one so not sure, but I hear it's a reliable bike as well.
  • Yama' YZF T/C, R6: I really like the looks of these but thinking the R6 is a bit too meaty for my first bike and may cost more than I'm willing to pay.
  • Suzu' GSX600: These look neat and tidy but I get the impression that these are used by track enthusiasts and may have been raced in previous lives, but I like the styling on these.

So, you get the idea. I prefer a 'sports' bike. Did I miss any?

Would really appreciate any help and advice before I make my choice. Thanks in advance. 

[This Topic has been modified by the Author]

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 4 years ago (21 March 2011 11:01)

Post a message in Riding Skills

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use