Skip to content

Ask an Expert First Big Bike? Buying & selling bikes

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Buying & selling bikes > First Big Bike?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

Ro4dst3r

Sep 11

Ro4dst3r says:

First Big Bike?

Hi everyone

I'm looking for some advice. I'm quite new to biking & have really got in to it over the last summer. I'm riding a CBR125 at the moment, will be taking my test quite soon & am already itching to get a bigger bike. It's mostly for commuting down the motorway to work which is about a 50 mile round trip, but also for a bit of fun. I like the look of the roadsters & am thinking about getting a Yamaha XJ6, a Honda Hornet, Triumph street triple, Maybe even a Monster 696. There seems to be so much choice that I don't really know where to start & I was hoping you guys could help narrow down the selection.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 4 years ago (13 September 2011 20:31)

Post a message in Buying & selling bikes

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
AdieR

Apr 08

AdieR says:

Usual questions:

What's your budget?

Have you considered insurance on the machines you like?

Reply to this Topic
Ro4dst3r

Sep 11

Ro4dst3r says:

first big bike?

well i wont be buying new. So maybe 4 to 6k. I hadn't thought about insurance costs but whatever it is will probably be cheaper than the car that I'm running at the moment. I am returning it in 6 months & want my bike by then. is insurance quite expensive for this type of bike? I realise I'll be paying a premium as a new rider.

Reply to this Topic
AdieR

Apr 08

AdieR says:

Kawasaki ER6