You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Bike accessories > Satnav

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

biggsy137

Sep 11

biggsy137 says:

Satnav

Ok, I'm pretty new to this biking lark. I've searched on here and on google and done some reading but still not really answered my question...
I'm thinking about going over to the dark side (buying a sat nav) now the way things look, I seem to have 3 options:
1 - Garmin bike specific one, something 220 I think. I like the features on this like reading out street names and being able to use it in the car too.

2 - Tom Tom Rider pro (I think) this being cheaper that the Garmin and some good reviews about it, but seems to need extras to use it in a car and not quite as many features as the Garmin.
But I think I read it changes volume as you speed up/slow down. Like the sound of this as to hear someone nagging you at 50/60 she's gonna be screaming in your ear when you stop at traffic lights... but also hear this is not as waterproof?

3 - The cheapest option - Buy a cheap sat nav with either bluetooth or headphone jack, waterproof case and headset and off we go...

What are peoples experiences with any of these options? I know Garmin vs Tom Tom is a swings and roundabouts question but I'd much rather hear it from the horses mouth as opposed to a salesman working on commission...

Features I want from it are to have some form of headset function either wired or wireless, re calculate if I go off exploring, beable to tell it to avoid motorways (I'm only on a 125!) but not 'highways' as google does 'cos this avoids some of the more major A roads too...
Being able to plan a round on the pc before hand is also a nice feature, can car satnavs do this yet?

So what do people think...?

Cheers all!

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 3 years ago (28 September 2011 19:42)

Post a message in Bike accessories

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required