You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Touring & travel > Riding through France

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

balders64

Feb 04

balders64 says:

Riding through France

:huh: In August this year I am catching the ferry from Portsmouth to Caen in France, then South to the Pyrenees. At the age of 48 it is my first time riding abroad & would value any advice no matter how little, on anything regarding the transporting of my bike on the ferry, to what are the essentials I need. Basically..... HELP! :smile 

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 3 years ago (21 March 2012 20:45)

Post a message in Touring & travel

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
jaffa90

Mar 09

jaffa90 says:

France

Welcome balder,did this 20 years ago,

Passport,

breakdown cover,

headlight yellow,

G.B. sticker,

extra bulbs,

foldable warning triangle +first aid kit,(did not bother)

very small container of chain oil and 1/2" paintbrush,

toothbrush.

underpants

socks 

place your gloves under the anchor strap going across your seat when they secure your bike.

The crossing was 6 hours so have a lay down.

Remember to ride on the right hand side of the road,more so after stopping for a break.

before any roundabouts stop and watch how the traffic flows,

we avoided tolls and rode through the country.(some yorkshire blood in us).

Any questions?

Reply to this Topic
happylemon666

Mar 10

additions

V5, insurance, license,

I've never had a warning triangle, nor a yellow headlamp, nor a GB sticker, but I do carry with me a hi-vis waist coat.

toothpaste!