Skip to content

Ask an Expert Why is ABS ommited from some new bikes? Buying & selling bikes

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Buying & selling bikes > Why is ABS ommited from some new bikes?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

CostasM

Mar 12

CostasM says:

Why is ABS ommited from some new bikes?

I'm new to riding and I want to get my hand on a bigger bike, around 600cc. I keep checking reviews and specs on different bikes and my question is regarding the safety of some 600cc bikes. I really liked the MV Agusta F3 but was surprised to see that it doesn't have ABS, something that nobody cared much about in reviews. Tor's review on the bike stated that it has amazing breaking power and traction control and all.

Can someone tell me why abs is missing from bikes like the MV Agusta F3 and Ducati's streetfighter? Isn't ABS breaking very useful for sportbikes? Am I missing something about the use of the ABS? Can it be substituted by other Electronic safety features on a bike?

Someone with knowledge on the matter please tell me the security info I should be looking for on Sportbikes and how essential they are and their effect if omitted.

Thanks in advance!

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 3 years ago (22 March 2012 09:51)

Post a message in Buying & selling bikes

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
preunit

Dec 10

preunit says:

"why abs is missing from bikes like the MV Agusta F3"

ABS on road awesome, price and weight are usually the deciding factor as to wether or not a manufacturer fit them as standard, often they're offered as an option, like on the new Blade.