Skip to content

Ask an Expert Advice for Bikers! Insurance

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Insurance > Advice for Bikers!

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

TheJoyRider

Mar 12

TheJoyRider says:

Advice for Bikers!

Dear All,

I work in the motorcycle insurance industry! :tongue:

I have some tips for you all!

1. If your Excess is not discussed at the start of the policy, tough luck if you go to make a claim and you find the Excess is worth as much as the vehicle itself!
2. Please read your documents when you make a policy and if you don't receive them within seven days, then by all means ask for a set to be sent out!
3. IT DOESN'T MATTER if your documents were never RECEIVED by yourself, if you want to call back seven months later for a copy and don't like PAYING for another set, TOUGH! It's YOUR fault you didn't ask for them in a reasonable amount of time at the start of the policy!
4. You shouldn't complain about amendment fees nor be abusive to front line staff about them as they don't dictate the prices, yes they can be steep but this is NOT forced onto yourself, if you don't like Harrods prices then don't shop there! Simples!
5. Do not expect documents to, after taking out a policy online, magically appear in your Email inbox 10 seconds later! These things have to be proof read by a human being in a queue, after all, we can't be insuring THE HONEY MONSTER!
6. FOR GODS SAKE DO NOT ASK TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER IF YOU ARE UNHAPPY ABOUT ANY OF THE ABOVE!!!!! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WILL CHANGE BY ASKING THE MANAGER INSTEAD OF THE TRAINED FRONTLINE STAFF WHO KNOW MORE ABOUT INSURANCE THAN MOST CUSTOMERS EVER WILL!

Lastly, I would like to advise you readers properly on what a cooling off period is for all our sakes!

It is the ability to CANCEL a policy instead of being forced to stick with it for a lengthier period of time! Did you read the word "Free" in that sentence? NO!!! Why? Because it doesn't HAVE to be!