You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Bike accessories > first big bike

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

marnold17

Apr 12

marnold17 says:

first big bike

hi just wondering if anyone can help, got my das booked for 18 april, ive had a one on one conversion to get used to the bigger bike on a cbf500, i found this bike easier to ride than my current cbf125, it felt more stable and planted. anyways my question is would a cb1000r be too much bike as a first big bike. i have been driving for 16 years, have covered around 4,000 miles of city riding dodging white van men, taxi's and the like. also my job is to drive heavy construction plant where the concentration levels are quite high. looking forward to hearing your opinions.

mick.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 3 years ago (09 April 2012 14:14)

Post a message in Bike accessories

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
aehewitt

Jan 11

aehewitt says:

Mick

Coming from a 125 straight on to a 1000cc might just be a bit too much.May i suggest you buy your self a cheap 600fx first before you jump straight on to a very powerful bike.Plus the insurance company will have a field day with ya.You will need plenty of NCB under your belt;hope this helps.....Ash.:biggrin:

Reply to this Topic
AdieR

Apr 08

AdieR says:

I'm not convinced

a litre bike is a good starting point, esp if you're just coming off a 125 - the insurance will be high, and there's a good chance you'll drop it (expensive).