Skip to content

General from 125: to 250 or 500? General

You are in... Forums > General > General > from 125: to 250 or 500?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

DOLOMITE73

May 12

DOLOMITE73 says:

from 125: to 250 or 500?

Hello all my first post so go easy eh. I'm a total noob to biking - literally first ride about 2 months ago to do my CBT and straight away bought a Yamaha YBR125. 

Always fancied it but never had the need till house move forced it as I now have a 50 mile round trip commute mostly on dual carriagway (A12 and A14) and last bit through town traffic. Really enjoying it and confidence is building but I'm already looking ahead to a bigger bike. The Yamaha is happy at 55-60 (indicated) but is all out of puff and starts to groan at the slightest sign of an incline. But what I hate most is the inability to pass safely. I'm right near Felixstowe and the roads are crammed with lorries sat at about the same speed as me and I struggle to pass safely and quickly.

So in a few months or so I want to get my full license and look to a bigger bike. I've been reading up and the YBR250 gets good write ups, but doesn't seem that much pokier, so given my commute (will need to do it pretty much all weather too unfortunately) do you think I should skip the 250 and go straight to something like the Honda CBF500?

Other info, I'm 39, been driving 20 years, have no interest in being a 2-wheleled mentalist, have little interest in tinkering with the bike more than I have to, mpg not so much of an issue as it's still saving heaps over having a 2nd car so I'm happy with that and with 2 little monsters at home have no time for pleasure riding.

Advice please!

[This Topic has been modified by the Author]

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 3 years ago (26 May 2012 15:29)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.