Skip to content

Ask an Expert Traffic offense.... Legal

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Legal > Traffic offense....

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

pporfirio

May 09

pporfirio says:

Traffic offense....

I have been riding for about 30 years, but only about 5 years in the UK. Two way traffic road with concrete islands separating traffic. Lane 1 and 2 go straight ahead, while lane 3 is to turn right. There is a traffic light for lanes 1 and 2 with green arrows, and a traffic light to turn right for lane 3 as there is a lot of traffic coming the other way on two lanes. The lanes are narrow with lots of traffic, in London.

I was filtering keeping between lanes 2 and 3. Traffic lights for lanes 1, 2 and 3 were red. Traffic lights to move forward on lanes 1 and 2 turned green, while traffic lights for lane 3 stayed red. There were no gaps to merge onto lane 3. I had my indicator on, but as traffic was very heavy there no gaps for about 150 yards, which is unusual.

If I stayed to wait for a gap to open when the traffic light for lane 3 turned green I would be in a dangerous position with cars, vans, buses and lorries passing very close to my left just a few inches away at 30mph. I decided to keep making progress and if I could not find a gap to merge, move to the front of the line of cars. As I got closer to the front of the line, I realized there were two vans after the white line, waiting to turn right as the oncoming traffic was heavy. My judgement was that it was unsafe to try and swerve and stop before the first van (the intersection is usually damp as it is under a bridge and the weather had been bad), but I could see there was enough space between the vans. So that is where I stopped.

Once the lights turned green, I moved on and then realized that there was heavy traffic on the road I was heading into.