You are in... Forums > General > General > Numb hands help

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

j_skearney

Aug 06

j_skearney says:

Numb hands help

I'm new to sportsbikes.  I have an R1 and travel about 2 hours a day.  I've noticed my left hand suffers a bit with the engine vibes, it's not bad it just gets numb, but is there a simple solution?

Thanks for any advice

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (20 October 2012 09:52)

Post a message in General

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
davidstowe358

Jun 08

numb hands

I used have the same problem all you can do is take the weight off of your wrists and keep your hands moving it keeps the blood circulating.

Reply to this Topic
smidget

Nov 07

smidget says:

Hi j_skearney

Make sure that the line of your arm, wrist, clutch lever is straight, if there is a slight mialignment which causes you to have to bend your wrist you will over a longer journey time suffer the symptoms you describe.

Should after making sure alignment is correct then you are probably suffering with the onset of 'carpel tunnel syndrome' this is the collapse of the tunnel in your wrist and is pinching the nerves.

It is a common problem for motorcyclists, lorry drivers, and typists these being the major groups that develop this complaint.

Reply to this Topic
BaldE35

Oct 06

BaldE35 says:

Numb hands

Hi I.Skearney,

In addition to what the guys have suggested I suggest you modify your sitting position slightly take more weight onto your legs lock you legs into the tank. That way your upper body is not presssing down on the wrists it will help.