Skip to content

Ask an Expert Using Heated Gloves independently from bike? Clothing

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Clothing > Using Heated Gloves independently from bike?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

ToteStreetStudios

Nov 12

Using Heated Gloves independently from bike?

This is a little awkward, but I figured, who better to ask than the experts?

I'm not a biker.  I'm an artist.  I paint outside a lot, and one of the main difficulties is how cold my hands get (manageable in summer and fall but devastating in winter).  

I started looking online for heated gloves, mainly looking for battery heated gloves.  Somehow along the line, I got mixed up and assumed that FirstGear Heated Glove Liners were battery powered and ordered them (pretty much depleting my petty cash for the month), and as soon as they arrived, I realized my mistake(s):

1) You have to plug them into the heated jacket (problem solved by FirstGear's "DC Coax Plug Y-Harness".)

2) The whole rig has to be plugged in to a motorcycle.  Whoops.

After further research, I found that one of the pages selling the glove liners vaguely suggested this:  "If preferred, you can purchase a portable battery pack with optional a/c adapter (case optional as well)."  What a gem.

Now I've been all over the internet trying to figure out what kind of battery pack this page is suggesting.  But entering all variations on "battery pack with ac adapter" into various search engines has turned up products such as camera chargers, battery packs for sony game systems, telephone headsets and the like.  

Like I said, I'm an artist- I'm no biker, electronics enthusiast, or really anything remotely masculine, but the day I'm too wimpy for heated gloves is the day the world caves in.  In the simplest of terms: Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can plug these damn things into to make them work, or should I just cave and try to return them (or resell them on ebay)?