Skip to content

Discuss This You Ask/You Answer: Countersteering General news

You are in... Forums > Discuss This > General news > You Ask/You Answer: Countersteering

This is a discussion topic

This discussion topic is linked to an article on this site. You can navigate to the article by clicking on the article name in the first post.

Go to most recent reply

Anonymous

MCN  says:

You Ask/You Answer: Countersteering

"I'm new to riding, and people keep telling me to steer the wrong way into corners – which certainly wasn't mentioned in my training! I've done some digging online, and have read up on the theory of 'countersteering' but there seem to be lots of conflicting opinions on the practice. Is it the right thing to do, or is it...

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (10 December 2012 13:28)

Post a message in General news

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
djawillis

Jun 06

djawillis says:

You dont need to try

The simple fact of the matter is you already counter steer, everyone does. At speeds over say 5-10 mph there is no other way to initiate your turn, even if you think you don't you do! In a strait line all forces are in equilibrium and you need to unbalance these to turn, this is done by counter steering. I'm only a 2nd year motorcycle engineering student so dont have complete understanding but for full information vittore cossalter's Motorcycle dynamics is the book you want, its a bit wordy mind.

Reply to this Topic
gordlb

Dec 12

gordlb says:

Countersteering