Skip to content

Ask an Expert Fear of leaning / cornering problems Riding Skills

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Riding Skills > Fear of leaning / cornering problems

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

K1mzzz

Dec 12

K1mzzz says:

Fear of leaning / cornering problems

Hi all,

Firstly, hi - I am new here and new to biking, so please go easy on me! I have searched the forum, however, couldn't find anything like this :-(

I have completed my CBT and theory tests, and am soon to start training for a proper license. I am new to bikes and have been riding for just over 2 months, however, I have a problem that was confirmed by the instructor assessing me - cornering!

I seem to stiffen up when cornering and do not have the confidence to lean - I keep thinking the bike will slip over or I'll completely lose the rear. This wasn't helped by an actual slip (but luckily I didn't come off!) when it was frosty/icy yesterday! This means that I slow down ridiculously (10mph - ish for tight right-handers!) and have very iffy lines sometimes. I have to resist the urge to squeeze the front brake too!

I can't seem to bring myself to loosen up/relax when cornering or lean with the bike for the constant fear of the bike slipping over. This means the lines I take through the corners are awful and I slow down something ridiculous!

Has anyone got any tips / helpful hints that would help me conquer this fear and not become one of the many nuisances on the road? (particularly when wet, as it has been the last few days!)

Much appreciated and many thanks,

K

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (14 December 2012 22:25)

Post a message in Riding Skills

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use