Skip to content

Ask an Expert Suitable first sports bike? Buying & selling bikes

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Buying & selling bikes > Suitable first sports bike?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

KevyL

Jan 13

KevyL says:

Suitable first sports bike?

Hey guys, first post on here. I passed my test on Friday (18 Jan) just before the new law came in. I am a total noob when it comes to biking and my only real experience aside from lessons is when i rented a 125 for a weekend.

That being said, I want to buy a 600cc sports bike. I was hoping for something around year 2000 and not spending anymore than 16/1700 on it, due to being told that most riders drop their first bike in the first year. I will mainly be riding to and from work (a 25 mile each way motorway journey).

Would anyone know a suitable bike and a rough insurance price on it?  I've just turned 27 and have no NCB built up. I have had my own car insurance fully comp and with 8 years NCB but i'm sure this won't benefit me any when it comes to insuring a bike.
Thanks

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (20 January 2013 19:22)

Post a message in Buying & selling bikes

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
Diablere

Dec 12

Diablere says:

SV650

you know it makes sense!

Reply to this Topic
philehidiot

Feb 09

philehidiot says:

I'm

a similar age to you and with my NCB of 4 or 5 years it'll be £600ish for insurance. There's a button at the top of the page that says motorcycle insurance. Use that. I'd be surprised if it's cheap.

CBR600F - an old one, not the new model.
SV650 as above is a good choice, too.