Skip to content

Ask an Expert Cornering - thought process Riding Skills

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Riding Skills > Cornering - thought process

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

chipsnham

Feb 13

chipsnham says:

Cornering - thought process

hi guys,

I have no riding experience apart from my CBT, 1 x lesson and my mod1 and mod2 tests. Passed 1st time with 1 minor so chuffed with that, this was about 2 weeks ago and as soon as I passed I went out and bought a GSX-R600 (52) (I know it's not an ideal first bike and I should get more experience on something else first, but i'm not overly bothered by speed so just want to be controlled and smooth in corners).

I have ridden to work (20 ish miles away) pretty much every day for the 2 weeks since I passed my test and I wondered if someone with more experience could talk me through their thought process when approaching, during and exiting a corner.

e.g. do you lean in to the corner or do you lean forwards and in to the corner, where does your head go? what are you focusing on whilst in the corner? what are your hands doing? are you pushing down on the handlebars?

Really would appreciate some advice from someone more experienced.

Thanks!

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (22 February 2013 19:32)

Post a message in Riding Skills

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
Amateurcynic

Jun 09

Amateurcynic says:

Firstly