You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Technical > Z1000 Handling

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

IsraelsRSV

Feb 11

IsraelsRSV says:

Z1000 Handling

Hi Guys, I have bought a 04 Z1000 to use all year round to go to and from work as well as weekend riding with sports bikey mates. I have been riding for 12 years and have been known for being a bit of a.... idiot, with everyone telling me I'm gonna kill myself one day. Anyway I am now a husband and father and have calmed myself down. I find the Z a practical big bike to use everyday, with enough poke to wheelies to show off but when it comes to corners it is not giving me the confidence I want at all. And I am known for being over confident if anything! I find getting my knee down to much of a strain and worry that the big things gonna slide out from under me! high speed corners are a little better, but what can i do to improve the handling so i can relax and plant my knee on the twisties not wondering "is it gonna make it?" How can I make it handle better. I have tried a narrower back tyre and am thinking on raising the rear by 40mm also insuring the suspensions sag is set up for my weight, but does anyone know of any tricks they may have tried to get they're Z handling like a sports bike.

My last bike was an 04 RSV1000r that i would run on race tech's so maybe I'm just expecting to much.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (07 March 2013 12:21)

Post a message in Technical

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
jaffa90

Mar 09

jaffa90 says:

handling