Skip to content

Ask an Expert Emergencies ? Technical

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Technical > Emergencies ?

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

traylerm8

Jan 13

traylerm8 says:

Emergencies ?

Hi
I'm quite new to Motorbiking.  I was just wondering whether to carry spare bulbs and inner-tubes around in case of emergencies.  What does everyone else do?

Thanks

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (09 March 2013 18:52)

Post a message in Technical

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
fogie

Jan 04

fogie says:

spares

Hardly worth the effort chap. Bulbs can be had anywhere, and as for inner tubes.... haven't seen one for yonks. Not that it would be easy to change a tyre or tube at the side of the road. Just carry a breakdown card and mobile phone. 

For a long distance/holiday run, then just possibly a couple of things to keep you mobile... depending on the bike, todays bikes are pretty damned reliable.

Reply to this Topic
AdieR

Apr 08

AdieR says:

Things

like bulbs and fuses are useful to keep.

I would buy one of those puncture repair kits (with tyre plugs and CO2 gas), rather than inner tubes (bike dependent, but most bikes will have tubeless tyres, and breaking the seal on those is tricky without the right tools anyhow). (The other point, can you imagine taking a wheel out by the side of the road to fit / replace an inner tube, with nothing to stand the bike on, and chucking down with rain?).

Reply to this Topic
philehidiot

Feb 09

philehidiot says:

Breakdown