Skip to content

Discuss This You Ask/You Answer: Keeping a bike clean General news

You are in... Forums > Discuss This > General news > You Ask/You Answer: Keeping a bike clean

This is a discussion topic

This discussion topic is linked to an article on this site. You can navigate to the article by clicking on the article name in the first post.

Go to most recent reply

Anonymous

MCN  says:

You Ask/You Answer: Keeping a bike clean

"I am new to biking and I want to keep my machine in good condition but my chain is already looking worse for wear. Everyone seems to be giving me different advice on how to keep it clean such as: WD-40, paraffin, engine oil, cleaners, specific chain lubes and Scottoiler. What works best?" Your answer could help. The best will be...

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (25 March 2013 15:52)

Post a message in General news

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
romford4

Oct 05

romford4 says:

Chain -

buy a packet of those cheap supermarket sponge/scourers and a can of WD40.  Using the rougher side of the sponge, spray on plenty of WD40 and whizz round your chain to get the worst of the crud off.  Then WD40 the softer side of the sponge and whizz round your chain again.  Have a quick coffee while it dries, then put some gear-oil on a second sponge and whizz round your chain a final time to lube it.  Spend extra on spray-on dry chain lube if you want to but there's not much extra benefit for the cost involved.