Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

soapes

May 10

soapes says:

experience

Hi,

Can anyone recommend an insurance company that'll take 20+ years of riding into consideration for a car quote?

Had full bike licence for over 20 yrs, this included cat B1 (trikes, small cars etc) passed my driving test just over a year ago, (I didn't have to do theory as I was "upgrading within categories"). So potentially I've been driving small cars (upto 550kg) for 20+ years, as well as riding bikes for over 20 years. Do any car insurance companies take this into consideration? As at present I'm been classed as a new driver and am expected to pay 17 year old rates at the age of 38!

To make matters worse I actually need a car as I live in rural Wales and my wife and I are expecting the pitter patter of tiny feet soon!

Thanks for any advice.

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (10 May 2013 17:58)

Post a message in Insurance

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.

Upload image(s) from your computer (up to 3 images)

Terms of use

Use of our community areas and forums is subject to important terms of use. By joining our community and using the features you agree to be bound by these terms. See terms of use below. 

Cancel
preunit

Dec 10

preunit says:

I tried

and failed :upset: 

Good luck though, if you do find a broker that does, please post it up :smile

Reply to this Topic
shuggie1

Apr 07

shuggie1 says:

Don't think it's possible

What car weighs less than 550kg anyhow?

They normally don't care about you having bike experience, or other way round, if you have a car and buy a bike you're classed as a new rider.

But, if you have a dink in your car they screw your bike history, and other way round.

Unlucky

Reply to this Topic
soapes

May 10

soapes says:

No luck!!

Well it seems no insurer will take 20 years of a full category B1 into account!