Skip to content

Ask an Expert Choosing 1st Bike...thoughts.... Buying & selling bikes

You are in... Forums > Ask an Expert > Buying & selling bikes > Choosing 1st Bike...thoughts....

Got something to say?

Got something to say?

Go to most recent reply

3gfx

Jul 13

3gfx says:

Choosing 1st Bike...thoughts....

Hello!

First a little history to help you help me (I hope). I'm 27, in Canada did the licenced M2 course but I have to wait another 50ish days for my M2 to be submitted to the ministry.

I've been riding for 12 years on a Yamaha BW200 (many of you may know as the fat cat). It's the original version of the TW200. It's a 1985, that I've done everything with. I've been in sand, on the track, in the bush, over jumps and whoops (not that the bike handled it well) but as full throttle as possible along the way.

At this point I'm finally looking to get a road bike. I don't intend to wheelie or race, I want to tour with the wifey on a strong bike that handles well when I want to toss it into a corner but is also good and comfortable for a passenger, as it's *our* bike and she will learn to drive it as well on occasion. But mainly it will be for both of us to "tour" on.

So I need you to weigh in on a cheap insurance, cheap used cost and COMFORTABLE sport touring bike (yes I know cruisers are more comfy).

If you know of a bike (used under $3000) that is similar to a Yamaha BOLT I would be interested in hearing your opinion but I really like the sport tourers.

I'm looking currently at an 2002 SV650, it looks comfy and has many good reviews. The owner wants $3000 (wife's bike) but I've worked the price down to $2400, having 36000kms.

THOUGHTS???

ANY THOUGHTS PLEASE!!!

...Thanks

:smile

Reply to this Topic  
  • Posted 2 years ago (09 July 2013 13:30)

Post a message in Buying & selling bikes

Fields marked with an asterisk * are required

Please note. You cannot submit more than 4000 characters as a message.