TT Legends

By MCN -

 27 December 2006 13:30

Italian racing superstar  Giacomo Agostini headlines a glittering array of racing legends appearing at next year’s Centenary TT.

Many of the greatest names to have graced the Isle of Man TT races will relive their golden days as they take to the tortuous 37.73mile Mountain course once again. Kevin Schwantz was also recently announced as attending.

Fifteen-times World Champion Agostini won 10 TT races out of his 122 GP wins. Other great names at the Centenary include:  John Surtees (6 TT wins, 7 world motorcycle titles and still the only man to have won both World 500GP and F1 titles), Phil Read (7 TT wins), Mick Grant (7 TT wins), Geoff Duke (6 TT wins), Jim Redman (6 TT wins) Carl Fogarty (3 TT wins), Mitsui Itoh (only Japanese rider to win a TT race)

There will also be exotic GP machines from MV Agusta, Benelli, Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki, and many of the top names will be re-united with the bikes they raced on the Isle of Man.


Never before has such an array of world class stars been assembled and among those already confirmed are:

Giacomo Agostini

10 T wins, 15 times World Champion, 122 GP wins

Dieter Braun

1970 125cc TT winner, 2 time World Champion

Roger Burnett

1986 Senior TT winner

Kel Carruthers

2 TT wins, 1969 250cc World Champion, 7 GP wins

Rod Coleman MNZM

1954 Junior TT winner

Graeme Crosby

3 TT wins, 2 time World F1 Champion

Robert Dunlop

5 TT wins, most NW200 wins ever

Geoff Duke OBE

6 TT wins, 6 times World Champion, 33 GP wins

Carl Fogarty MBE

3 TT wins, 7 times World Champion, most successful World Superbike rider ever

Stuart Graham

1967 50cc TT winner, 2 GP wins

Mick Grant

7 TT wins, 2 GP wins

Ron Haslam

1982 Formula One TT winner, 2 time World Champion

Dennis Ireland

1982 Classic TT winner, 1 GP win

Mitsuo Itoh

1963 50cc TT winner, only Japanese winner in TT history

Dave Leach

4 TT wins

Phillip McCallen

11 TT wins, only man to win 4 TT races in a week

Chas Mortimer

7 TT wins, 7 GP wins, runner-up 1973 125cc GP Championship, 3rd 1976 350cc GP Championship

Phil Read MBE

7 TT wins, 8 times World Champion, 52 GP wins, one of only two men to be 125cc, 250cc and 500cc World Champion

Jim Redman MBE

6 TT wins, 6 times World Champion, 45 GP wins

Brian Reid

5 TT wins, 2 times World Champion

Tony Rutter

8 TT wins, 4 times World F2 Champion, 2 GP wins

Ian Simpson

3 TT wins

Barry Smith

4 times TT winner, 4 GP wins, 2 times World F3 Champion

John Surtees MBE

6 TT wins, 7 times World Champion, 38 GP wins, only man to have been World Champion on both 2 and 4 wheels

Carlo Ubbiali

5 TT wins, 9 times World Champion, 39 GP wins

Charlie Williams

8 TT wins, 1980 F2 World Champion, 3 GP wins

Other famous TT riders set to appear at various stages over race week include Michelle Duff, Iain Duffus, Marc Flynn, Alan Jackson, Nick Jefferies, John Kidson, Ray Knight, Jan Kostwinder, Brian Morrison, Mat Oxley, Steve Parrish, Frank Perris, Richard Quayle, Johnny Rea, Tommy Robb, Heinz Rosner, Frank Whiteway, Barry Woodland and Stan Woods. The organisers say may more world class riders are to be confirmed.