Catalunya MotoGP: Terol wins after Zarco gets 20 second penalty

Published: 05 June 2011

Nicolas Terol has won the Catalunya 125GP race after Johann Zarco was given a 20 second penalty for what race direction feel was an 'illegal overtake' on the final sprint to the line.

Championship leader Terol led going in to the final corner, but didn't hit the apex. Zarco saw the gap and went for th inside line. The two were then neck and neck on the straight, with Zarco on the inside.

Terol was forced on to the grass just before the finish line, with Zarco also running on to the grass. Zarco crossed the line in first, but before he could make it back to pit lane he was given a 20 second penalty, which relegated him to sixth place.

The penalty means Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing rider Maverick Vinales was promoted to second place, with Red Bull Aprilia's Jonas Folger stepping on to the final step of the podium.

Brit Danny Kent was the highest placed Brit in ninth with Danny Webb and Harry Stafford failing to finish the race.

1. Terol (Aprilia) 22 laps
2. Vinales (Aprilia) +10.356s
3. Folger (Aprilia) +15.260s
4. Cortese (Aprilia) +15.670s
5. Vazquez (Derbi) +15.942s
6. Zarco (Derbi)
7. Faubel (Aprilia) +26.490s
8. Gadea (Aprilia) +26.681s
9. Martin (Aprilia) +36.134s
10. Kornfeil (Aprilia) +36.776s
11. Kent (Aprilia) +37.936s
26. McPhee (Aprilia) +2laps
28. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +s
Webb (Mahindra) DNF
Stafford (Aprilia) DNF