Smiths' Triumph head to TT with Rutter and Johnson

Published: 09 April 2014

British Supersport team Smiths’ triumph will make their first journey to the Isle of Man TT in 2014, securing the services of two former winners to spearhead their supersport campaign, as Gary Johnson and Michael Rutter come onboard.

Both riders are past 600 winners at the TT, with Johnson victorious in the 2011 race and Rutter winning back in 1998, although the West Midlands rider has sat out the class since 2009.

The resurgent Triumph factory has tasted victory before at the TT, too, with Bruce Anstey winning the 2003 race on the union flag-liveried Valmoto Triumph Daytona.

Speaking as the deal was announced, team principal Rebecca Smith said: "As a team we've often discussed the Isle of Man TT Races but only wanted to do it with everything in place. We are really looking forward to taking the iconic Triumph brand back to the Isle of Man and with Michael and Gary riding for us we are confident that we will be competitive.”

Rutter added: “I’m well happy to be riding for Smiths at the TT. I haven’t rode a supersport bike for years, and it’s nice to be riding something a bit different. I think it’ll help me in all classes, as the more laps you do the better. Testing went really good, and we got down to some half decent times. I think Gary is going to be the one to watch at the TT, and he was flying last week when we tested in Spain."