WSS Results: Laverty wins after clash with Crutchlow

Published: 27 April 2009

British rider Cal Crutchlow finished in second place after a blistering race in Assen and still leads the championship by six points.

Crutchlow was ahead in qualifying and practice but a disappointing start relegated him to tenth place on the grid. Undaunted by this Crutchlow battled through the pack and on the final lap he was hot on the heels of Laverty and Lascorz.

A tricky overtake on Lascorz caused Crutchlow to drop back to third place again, but then Crutchlow managed to slip last Lascorz again on the final corner of the final lap and landed second place, behind Laverty by only a tenth of a second.

1 E Laverty, Ireland (Honda),
2 C Crutchlow, GB (Yamaha),
3 J Lascorz, Spain (Kawasaki),
4 F Foret, France (Yamaha),
5 K Sofuoglu, Turkey (Honda),
6 M Aitchison, Australia (Honda),
7 A West, Australia (Honda),
8 B Veneman, Holland (Suzuki),
9 R Harms, Denmark (Honda),
10 M Pirro, Italy (Yamaha),
11 P Vostarek, Czech Republic (Honda),
12 G Nannelli, Italy (Triumph),
13 M Roccolli, Italy (Honda),
14 F Fujiwara, Japan (Kawasaki),
15 G McCoy, Australia (Triumph).