Ad closing in seconds....

Nominations released for Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

Published: 07 January 2013

Updated: 20 November 2014

Seven racers have been shortlisted for the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, in association with Adelaide; Ireland's most prestigious motorcycle racing awards.

The seven have been nominated by public vote, and the winner will be presented with the famous Joey Dunlop Trophy at a gala dinner later this month.

From road racing, Ryan Farquhar and Michael Dunlop are nominated, following Ryan's treble of North West 200, Isle of Man TT and Ulster Grand Prix wins in the Supertwin class, while Michael was victorious at the TT, a double winner at the UGP and an Irish champion to boot.

From British championships, National Superstock champion and 2013 BSB rookie Keith Farmer is nominated, as is Dubliner Jack Kennedy, denied the British Supersport Championship only by a mechanical failure.

From world championships, both Jonathan Rea and Eugene Laverty are nominated, following their fifth and sixth place finishes in the World Superbike Championship, while Jonathan also took his debut Suzuka 8-hour victory and subbed for Casey Stoner in MotoGP.

Graeme Irwin represents motocross, following on from his third place in the Red Bull Pro National and an excellent MX2 season.

The judging panel is chaired by former winner Adrian Coates. He commented "Our riders have been outstanding on World, British and Irish level, both on the short circuits, the roads, and off road. That's what has made this year’s vote such an intriguing one. We are blessed to have so many top class riders in the country.”

Over a dozen awards will be presented at the sold-out black tie ceremony, including the Black Horse short circuit rider of the Year, IFS International Road Racer, Charles Hurst Hall Fame, Red Bull Young Rider, Belleek Team of the Year, Greenlight Television Special Award, Alias Off Road Rider, Adelaide Outstanding Achievement, Duke Road Race Rankings, Adelaide Mondello Masters, Belfast Telegraph Race of the Year, and the IAM Safety Award.

The awards will take place on the 18th January.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)