Tai Woffinden wins MCN Man of the Year

1 of 1

2013 Speedway GP champion Tai Woffinden has become the first ever speedway rider to win the prestigious MCN Man of the Year Award since its inception in 1958.

Woffinden, who came back from two broken collarbones to win the title, won the fan’s vote by a record margin and beat competition from circuit racing world champions Marc Marquez, Tom Sykes and Sam Lowes.

Woffy, whose award was collected by friend and past winner James Whitham today at the Carole Nash MCN London Motorcycle Show, said: “It’s amazing to have won this, both for me and the world of speedway. Last season started well and just spiralled through to the end. I broke my collarbone twice, but kept trucking on and won the championship.”

“The reaction to my championship has been great and this is another honour. I asked my followers on Twitter (@woffinden108) to get behind me and they helped me win this award.”

MCN editor Andy Calton said: “The most illustrious names in motorcycle racing have won our Man of the Year award since 1958 and it’s fantastic to see a rider from the off-road world add his name alongside the likes of John Surtees, Barry Sheene and Mike Hailwood. For Tai to win the World Championship in 2013 was a superb achievement and I’m very happy to see our readers have recognised this by making him the first speedway rider to ever become our Man of the Year.”

BSI Speedway managing director Paul Bellamy said: “We’re truly delighted to see Tai named MCN Man of the Year. To win a prize historically dominated by road racers is a huge feather in his cap and a fantastic result for speedway as a sport.”

“Since winning the World Championship, Tai has worked very hard to take speedway to a mainstream audience in the UK. And it’s great to see him honoured as a talented motorcyclist, not just a world-class speedway rider.”

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer