Ad closing in seconds....

Celebrate 20 years of BSB at London show

Published: 03 February 2016

Updated: 02 February 2016

Landmark bikes and star riders take part in a one-off tribute to the world’s most exciting national race series at the Carole Nash MCN London Motorcycle Show.

In less than 10 days’ time BSB stars Neil Hodgson, Chris Walker, Niall Mackenzie, John Reynolds and Tommy Hill will be arriving at London’s Excel to mark 20 years since British Superbikes underwent a major relaunch in 1996. Some will be reunited with the machines that took them to glory, and all will be battling it out in Slide, the live action show that takes place several times each day.

The BSB display includes some standout models, memorable paint schemes, machinery that won the championship and some, such as Chris Walker’s 2000 GSX-R750, that came agonisingly close. Here’s the full list of machines you’ll be able to see:

1998 Cadbury’s Boost Yamaha YZF750
Niall Mackenzie
The machine that took Mackenzie to his third British Superbike championship title, winning six times and securing a further seven podium finishes in the 1998 season.



1999 Virgin Yamaha R7
Rider: Niall Mackenzie
One of only 500 R7s built by Yamaha. Although never taking a BSB win, Mackenzie and Steve Hislop did enjoy podiums on the 750cc superbike.



2000 Clarion Suzuki GSX-R750
Rider: Chris Walker
The machine ridden by Chris Walker in the bitter 2000 title fight with Neil Hodgson. Arguably one of the most famous and controversial seasons in BSB history.



2004 Rizla Suzuki GSX-R1000
Rider: John Reynolds
This GSX-R1000 won Suzuki their first BSB title in the current 1000cc format, and gave rider John Reynolds his third and final British Superbike crown.



2007 HM Plant Honda Fireblade
Rider: Ryuichi Kiyonari
A dominant force aboard the HM Plant Honda CBR1000RR, Ryuichi Kiyonari secured three BSB titles with the team in 2006, 2007 and 2010. 



2009 GSE Yamaha R1
Rider: Leon Camier
The combination of bike and rider proved to be a force to be reckoned with as the young Kent rider cruised to his maiden BSB crown, taking a record-breaking 19 wins. 



2015 Milwaukee Yamaha R1
Rider: Josh Brookes
In 2015 the Milwaukee Yamaha team and Josh Brookes proved almost unbeatable on the all-new Yamaha YZF-R1 taking the title with 12 wins.



The Carole Nash MCN London Motorcycle Show takes place on Feb 12-14 at London's Excel. For more information on whats happening and for tickets, click here.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)