Rutter quickest in Macau practice

Michael Rutter edged out last year’s winner John McGuinnes to go quickest in pre-qualifying ahead of Saturday’s Macau GP yesterday.

Rutter, who won the race in 1998 and 2000, went seven tenths faster than defending champion McGuinness around the tight 3.9-mile public road course of the tiny island.

British riders filled the top five places on the timing sheets with former Endurance world champion Brian Morrison in third, Gus Scott in fourth and Iain Duffus behind him.

David Jefferies, another former winner, failed to set a time when his TAS Suzuki GSX-R1000 let go on the opening lap. But the Yorkshireman is confident his team will have the bike ready for today’s qualifying.


MCN Staff

By MCN Staff