Ad closing in seconds....

Italy wins Motocross des Nations

Published: 21 October 2002

Updated: 24 November 2014

The Italian team won the 2002 Motocross des Nations at the Belpuig Circuit in Spain at the weekend.

The squad of Andrea Bartolini, Alessio Chiodi and Alex Puzar, all former World Champions, easily beat the other teams, depleted by the absence of big names and non-attendance of teams from the U.K. and U.S.

" You cannot compare this to our 1999 win, " reflected Chiodi. " Although every race is a different story.

" We were the favourites before the event began because there were not so many riders here, but today I pushed at the same level as if I was racing Pichon, Everts or any of those guys. A race like this is never easy. "

1)Italy 2)Belgium 3)Finland 4)Spain 5)Sweden 6)France 7)Estonia 8)Czech Republic 9)Ireland 10)Switzerland

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)