Hislop claims 2002 title

1 of 1

Steve Hislop wins the 2002 MCN British Superbike championship as rival Sean Emmett crashes out fighting for third.

Hislop was lucky not to be caught in the carnage as Emmett highsided at the Esses and tumbled past the MonsterMob Ducat rider. Hislop had marked his dominance all weekend by almost breaking the lap record of Valentino Rossi in qualifying, but was able to settle for third to take the championship in safety.

The race was won by Michael Rutter, who moves to second in the championship, with reigning champion John Reynolds in second.

Fourth was Glen Richards, fifth Simon Crafar, sixth John Crawford, seventh Karl Harris, eighth Dean Ellison, ninth Dean Thomas and tenth Gary Mason.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff