Anstey wins record breaking Junior TT

1 of 1

Bruce Anstey won the Junior TT on a Triumph Daytona 600. It is Triumphs first official appearance in the TT in 28 years. Anstey smashed the class lap record in the process.

He led the race from the start and was already more than half a second ahead of Ian Lougher, on a Suzuki GSX-R600, by the first time point at Glen Helen.

The Kiwi, who was second in the 1000cc Production TT on Monday, finished the first lap just a second under the class lap record pace coming from a standing start. But his first flying lap saw him smash the record by six seconds with an average speed of 121.78mph.

Anstey continued his strong pace over the remaining two laps increasing his lead to 11 seconds over Lougher by the end of the race.

Formula One TT winner Adrian Archibald held third position on his GSX-R600 throughout the race, never more than a couple of seconds behind Lougher.

Ryan Farquhar took fourth spot, less than two seconds behind on his Kawasaki ZX-6RR, while 1000cc Production TT winner Shaun Harris finished in fifth, followed by Jason Griffiths, Richard Britton, and Gordon Blackley.

Anstey’s Triumph team-mates Jim Moodie and John McGuinness were left to battle it out for ninth and tenth place, finishing just two seconds apart.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our TT discussion board

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff