Ad closing in seconds....

Rossi wins in Welkom

Published: 14 April 2004

Updated: 24 November 2014

Valentino Rossi has triumphed at the end of a titanic battle with Max Biaggi to give Yamaha victory at the first race of the 2004 MotoGP season.

The two Italians battled throughout the race, swapping positions until Rossi was able to make a decisive move three laps from the flag, beating Biaggi by 0.210 seconds. Sete Gibernau, the only rider to challenge the duo in the early stages, eventually fell back to take a comfortable third.

Rossi’s victory highlighted his talents, with the three other Yamahas finishing in ninth, tenth and eleventh.

Top Brit was Shane Byrne, who managed to score a championship point on his MotoGP debut with a 15th place, one position in front of Aprilia team-mate Jeremy McWilliams. Meanwhile reigning WSB champion Neil Hodgson, and his D’Antin team-mate Ruben Xaus both failed to finish.

Welkom MotoGP results:

1) Rossi. 2) Biaggi. 3) Gibernau. 4) Barros. 5) Hayden. 6) Capirossi. 7) Edwards. 8) Tamada. 9) Abe. 10) Checa. 11) Melandri. 12) Nakano. 13) Hopkins. 14) Bayliss. 15) Shane Byrne. 16) McWilliams. 17) Aoki. 18) Fabrizio.

DNF: Hodgson. Hofmann. Roberts Jnr. Xaus.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)