Ad closing in seconds....

Two wins for Rizla Suzuki at Snetterton

Published: 21 April 2004

Updated: 24 November 2014

The Rizla Suzuki team has dominated the third round of the British Superbike championship with Yukio Kagayama and John Reynolds taking a win each at a scorching hot Snetterton circuit.

The first race saw the two GSX-R1000 riding team-mates battle it out for first place with Kagayama snatching it on the line, winning the race by just 0.414 seconds. Third placed rider Michael Rutter wasn’t far behind finishing just 0.6 seconds down on Reynolds.

Sean Emmett took fourth place followed by Scott Smart, Dean Thomas, Ryuichi Kionari and Tommy Hill.

Hill’s Virgin Yamaha team-mates Gary Mason and Steve Plater both failed to finish the race, while James Haydon finished 10th on his temporary ride for the ETI Ducati squad.

Race two saw the turn of Reynolds to take the chequered flag after a close battle with Rutter’s Honda Fireblade, with Reynolds crossing the line just 0.5 seconds ahead. The pair managed to pull a significant lead on the rest of the pack during the 24 lap race with third placed man Emmett finishing nine seconds down and Kagayama taking fourth a further three seconds down on Emmett.

Dean Thomas took fifth place followed by Scott Smart and Glen Richards. Steve Plater finished in eighth despite suffering a painful back after crashing his Yamaha R1 at 160mph during practice on Friday.


Race 1: 1 Kagayama, 2 Reynolds, 3 Rutter, 4 Emmett, 5 Smart, 6 Thomas, 7 Kiyonari, 8 Hill, 9 Richards, 10 Haydon, 11 Ellison, 12 Hobbs, 13 Corke, 14 Buckingham, 15 Martin, 16 Scott, 17 Ashley, 18 Jones

DNF: Plater, Coxhell, Compton, Clarke, Hitchcox, Medd, Mason, Kirkham.

Race 2: 1 Reynolds, 2 Rutter, 3 Emmett, 4 Kagayama, 5 Thomas, 6 Smart, 7 Richards, 8 Plater, 9 Kiyonari, 10 Hill, 11 Mason, 12 Ellison, 13 Coxhell, 14 Haydon, 15 Clarke, 16 Hobbs, 17 Buckingham, 18 Corke, 19 Martin, 20 Scott.

DNF: Ashley, Jones, Medd, Compton.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our BSB discussion board.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)