Carmichael wins again

Published: 04 February 2005

Ricky Carmichael took his fourth consecutive win in the AMA Supercross championship at the Angel Stadium, in Anaheim, California on Saturday, February 5.

The 25-year-old not only extended his lead in the championship, but also set a new record for consecutive wins by a Suzuki rider. The record was held by Mark Barnett who took three wins on his way to the 1981 AMA title.

Carmichael didn't get the holeshot but still dominated the 20-lap main event, with defending champion Chad Reed hampered by a neck injury, a crash in practice and tha first turn pile-up. Reed still managed to recover to take second, followed by Michael Byrne in third.

AMA SX Championship table: 1) Carmichael 120. 2) Reed 91. 3) Larocco 81. 4) Windham 80. 5) Fonseca 74. 6) Wey 67. 8) Tortelli 65. 9) Byrne 64. 10) Voss 55.