Ad closing in seconds....

MX1: Billy Mackenzie claims third in Belgium

Published: 08 August 2007

Updated: 24 November 2014

Britain’s Billy Mackenzie secured a podium at the World MX1 Championship GP in Belgium last weekend from pole position.

The Scottish Kawasaki rider finished third in the first race behind fellow Kawasaki rider Sebastien Pourcel and Honda’s Ken de Dycker.

He was battling for the pace with Suzuki’s Kevin Strijbos, and took the advantage in the penultimate lap in the Suzuki team’s home race.

The race was won by Kawasaki’s Sebastien Pourcel on his way to his second overall win of the season. He took the lead on just the second circuit but was passed by Ken de Dycker just before the half way point.

Sebastien Pourcel fought back and retook the lead to take his third heat win of the season.

A sixth place in race two was enough to see Sebastien Pourcel take his second overall win of the season just ahead of race two winner, KTM’s David Philippearts.

Billy Mackenzie did not have such a good outing in race two as he was thrown from his KX450F-SR motorcycle on the first lap. He managed to get back on but only finished 17th, resulting in an overall ninth place from the day.

Tanel Leok (Kawasaki) was second with Honda’s Julien Bill third.

The Namur circuit provided its usual perilous test with this bumpy and dusty tree-lined track was extremely narrow and permitted very few clear-cut passing opportunities.

Both slippery and rough the mud also saw occasional tree roots coming through the terrain presenting an additional hazard in what was an already very quick course.

Steve Ramon closed to within 43 points of injured World MX1 Championship leader Josh Coppins after taking fifth place at his home GP at Namur in Belgium - round 12 of the series.

Josh Coppins was out of action at the weekend with a small break in his shoulder, but hopes to be back at the next round.

Steve Ramon was left reaching for whatever standing he could obtain from the lower reaches of the top 10 and mid-pack.

The 27-year-old was at one time in contention for third place in Moto one and confirmed fifth before going one position better to fourth in Moto two but was never in with a chance of a top three appearance.

Steve Ramon's 34 point tally in front of his many fans means that he now stares at less than a one Grand Prix gap with three meetings remaining.

Steve Ramon said, on closing the gap between himself and Joshua Coppins: "Thirty-four points is not too bad to take away from Josh but it could have been more," said Ramon.

"I wanted at least 40 today but again bad starts cost me. It took so much energy and time to come to the front and I reached moments where it was almost impossible then to close the gap to the next rider.

“I was not riding how I wanted so it was a tough day; I can normally ride a lot smoother. There are still three GPs to go so we will keep trying and not give up."

Race one results:

1. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 42:55.504
2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:04.092
3. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:08.516
4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:09.304
5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:11.555
6. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), +0:23.734
7. David Philippaerts (ITA, KTM), +0:27.230
8. Mike Brown (USA, Honda), +0:29.276
9. Pierre A. Renet (FRA, Honda), +0:34.197
10. Julien Bill (SUI, Honda), +0:35.471

Race two results:

1. David Philippaerts (ITA, KTM), 43:10.344
2. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), +0:04.495
3. Julien Bill (SUI, Honda), +0:06.162
4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:11.408
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:23.604
6. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:43.697
7. Mike Brown (USA, Honda), +0:48.719
8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:56.944
9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +1:01.761
10. Marvin van Daele (BEL, Honda), +1:05.817.

MX1 Overall result:

1. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 40 points
2. David Philippaerts (ITA, KTM), 39
3. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), 37.
4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 35
5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 34
6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 34
7. Julien Bill (SUI, Honda), 31
8. Mike Brown (USA, Honda), 27
9. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Kawasaki), 24
10. Pierre A. Renet (FRA, Honda), 22.

MX1 World Championship Standings (after 12 of 15 rounds):

1. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 445 points
2. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 402
3. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 362
4. David Philippaerts (ITA, KTM), 351
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 334
6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 311
 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), 309
8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 304
9. Mike Brown (USA, Honda), 299
10. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Kawasaki), 271.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)