Ad closing in seconds....

British and National Supermoto Championships from Lydden Hill

Published: 03 July 2007

Updated: 24 November 2014

In a week of changeable and extreme weather, this weekend was no exception.

The teams and riders in the British and National Supermoto Championships were focussed on the tyre changes to give them an edge on the track at Lydden Hill for round four.

In the 450 National Championship James Addy was the dominant rider, but Bruce Dingle from Jersey made him work hard for the points.

Will Moore who had been challenging all day secured the second place finish in the final race from Bruce Dingle. Paul Wilby had shown consistency with two fourths and a third place finish, and Lee Rudd would have benefited in the points with a seventh and two fifth placed finishes.

The National Championship got underway and it looked as if James Addy would dominate again after his first race win, with a very clear lead he was unchallenged for the whole race as was Bruce Dingle in second.

It was John Millward who staved off Will Moore to take the third place finish. Will had to keep up the pace as he was being pressured by Dave Spafford and Tristan Ovenden, leaving Kevin Drayton clear in seventh place.

At the start of race two Bruce Dingle led from Will Moore but James Addy came out of the first dirt section in second place, he then made a mistake in lap five and Darren Wells took the second spot. This was the highest placed finish for Darren Wells on his Alice Aprilia, as he led from Tristan Ovenden.

Will Moore was starting to come under pressure from Kevin Drayton when the race two ended as Dave Spafford crashed out on lap six. In the third and final race Tristan Ovenden was at the front with Bruce Dingle in second, as he managed to cross the line with over a second to spare, from second place Bruce Dingle.

William Moore held the third place only until the end of lap one when Kevin Drayton came through, then Kevin held firm in third position to claim his podium finish as Will Moore took his third fourth place finish of the day.

Darren Wells had a comfortable race in fifth position, leaving James Addy with an astounding sixth place following his start at the rear of the grid. Graeme Norris and Phil Gee claimed 15th and 16th place in the final A group race following their B group starts earlier in the day.

The British Championship saw some of the fastest racing of the weekend. Christian Iddon secured three wins and the maximum points.

There were three wild card riders at this round, Joe Harvey came over from Australia, the 2006 S1 Dutch Champion Rob Simpson tried his hand on a British track; but it was Jochen Jasinski from Germany was the most successful with a third place in the final points tally.

In race one Christian was unfaltering and led the whole race, while Sam Warren lost his second place to Matt Winstanley on the ninth lap In race two Matt Winstanley had the lions share of the race at the front but this didn’t stop Christian taking to the front in lap seven.

However the pair did exchange places again it was Iddon who took the win. Sam Warren had a comfortable race in third position.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)