Isle of Man TT: Anstey breaks records on way to Superstock victory

1 of 1

New Zealander Bruce Anstey broke the race and lap record on the way to winning the Superstock race this afternoon at the Isle of Man TT.

Anstey completed the four laps of the 37.73mile circuit in 1hr 11min 629sec, more than a minute quicker that the record set last year.

He also broke the lap record on lap one to record 128.297mph and then broke it again on the next lap with a 128.349mph.

After the race the Suzuki GSX-R1000 rider said: "The bike was going really well. I was quite nervous but it went really well for me.

"That last lap it was quite weird because I got held up quite a bit (by later starters).

Following yesterday's Superbike victory, John McGuinness got his chance on the podium again in second.

He said: "The lap speeds were sensational. I felt I had made a really good effort.

"I think my bike was good enough to do the job but the rider on it wasn't good enough."

In third place was Ian Hutchinson. He was given a scare and went down to third but reclaimed his slot to get on the podium.

Race results:

1 Bruce Anstey 2007 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / Relentless by TAS
2 John McGuinness 2007 Honda Fireblade 1000cc / H M Plant Honda
3 Ian Hutchinson 2007 Honda CBR 1000cc / H M Plant Honda Racing
4 Martin Finnegan 2007 MV Agusta 1000cc / Alpha Boilers Racing
5 Conor Cummins 2007 Yamaha YZF R1 1000cc / Team Millsport
6 Mark Parrett 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / C & C Ltd
7 James McBride 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc
8 Ian Pattinson 2006 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / Martin Bullock Racing
9 Gary Carswell 1000 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc
10 Dan Stewart 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / Wilcock Consulting
11 Ian Armstrong 2007 Suzuki GSX K7 1000cc / Powersport Bike
21 Gary Johnson* 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / Speedfreak Racing
13 Nigel Beattie 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / CD Racing/Millsport
14 Ian Lougher 2007 Honda CBR 1000cc / Team Blackhorse Racing
15 Steve Plater* 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / AIM Racing
16 Stephen Oates 2007 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / Hallett Aviation
17 Mark Buckley 2006 Yamaha YZF R1 1000cc / Crossan Motorc
18 Keith Amor* 2007 Honda CBR 1000cc / Site Welding Service
19 Les Shand 2007 Yamaha YZF R1 1000cc / Leeds Parcel C
20 Chris Palmer 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / NCT Racing
21 Paul Dobbs 2003 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / Dave East Enginee
22 David Coughlan 2006 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / R&C duetiny
23 Stefano Bonetti Suzuki GSXR 1000cc
24 Mark Miller Aprillia 1000cc / Woolfman/Yo Shiharu/Padgett
25 Jimmy Moore* 2007 Honda CBR 1000cc / Team Blackhorse Racing
26 Paul Shoesmith 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / Speedfreak Racing
27 Frank Spenner 2004 Yamaha R1 1000cc / ADAC Hessen-Thue
28 Paul Owen 2006 Kawasaki ZX10R 1000cc / Back to Normal
29 Steve Kuenne 2006 Yamaha YZF 1000cc / Dave Sandlan
30 George Spence 2005 Yamaha YZF R1 1000cc
31 John Burrows 2006 Suzuki GSXR 1000cc / H.M. Sports Motor
32 Liam Quinn 2006 Yamaha R1 1000cc / Team Racing
33 Tim Poole 2007 Yamaha YZF R1 1000cc / Bill Smith Motor
34 Dave Madsen-Mygdal 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / CSC Racing
35 John Barton 2007 Suzuki K7 1000cc / Marks Bloom Racing
36 James Edmeades 2007 Yamaha R1 1000cc / Speedfreak Racing
37 Christer Miinin 2006 Suzuki GSXE 1000cc / Martin Bullock Racing

Lap four:

Giong into the final third of the circuit, Anstey increases his lead to 35.46secs.

At the Sulby Speedtrap Anstey is recorded at exactly the same speed as lap one, 182.900mph. Hutchinson was second fastest although third in the race with 178mph with McGuinness next at 175.2. BSB's Steve Plater is 16th.

Anstey looks on target to take the quickest total race time as he extends his lead to 29secs despite being held up by later starters. With just 28 laps left McGuinness is still second with Hutchinson third 54secs down on the leader.

Mark Parrett moves up to fifth on his Yamaha R1.

Lap three:

Top 10 after lap three: Anstey, McGuinness, Hutchinson, Finnegan, Parrett, Cummins, McBride, Pattinson, Stewart, Armstrong.

Speedtraps at the Grandstand record Anstey at 169.7mph with his lap three slower due to his pit stop recorded at 121.299mph at a time of 18:39.78. McGuinness is now 27.31 secs behind after recording a lap of 120.851mph taking 18:43.93. Hutchinson is still third taking 18:52.92 at 119.892mph.

The Sulby speedtrap records Anstey passing at 180.900mph with the Kiwi now extending his lead to 24.14 by the Ramsey Hairpin. Hutchinson is 24secs behind McGuinness on his Honda CBR1000

Anstey has added to his lead, which is now up to 23 seconds. Hutchinson is back ahead of Finnegan in third place.

Lap two:

Connor Cummins becomes the fastest Manxman around the TT course at 124.212mph.

Anstey breaks the lap record again at the end of lap two at 128.349. He has just pitted as has McGuinness. Anstey goes back on the track in the lead.

Martin has run out of fuel going round the Creg Ny Baa. Ryan Farquhar also runs out of fuel.

Guy Martin moves in to third ahead of Hutchinson by The Bungalow and soon puts a one and a half second gap between them. Anstey extends his lead to 21secs.

Ryan Farquhar is overtaken on the road by Anstey and McGuinness. Anstey extends his lead on McGuinness to 20secs.

Anstey extends his lead to 17 secs by Glen Helen ahead of McGuinness and Hutchinson. Martin moves ahead of Finnegan on time.

Lap one:

John McGuinness bests Adrian Archibald's lap record of 17:52.54 at the end of lap one but Bruce Anstey thrashes it straight away with a 128.297mph lap in a time of 17.38.70.

Hutchinson is third nearly 17 secs down on the leader.

Top 10: Anstey, McGuineess, Hutchinson, Finnegan, Martin, Farquhar, Cummins, Parrett, McBride, Stewart.

As irony would have it Archibald then retired.

Bruce Anstey extends his lead to nearly eight seconds going through the Ramsey Hairpin from McGuinness. Ian hutchinson is still third and has overtaken teammate Ian Lougher.

Bruce Anstey is the fastest going through the Sulby speedtrap at 182.900. McGuinness moved in to second place going through Ballaugh.

Ryan Farquhar is the first man to arrive at Glen Helen, but he is sixth on time. Leader at the end of the first section is Bruce Anstey recording a speed of 131.021 after 4:26.52. Second is Ian Hutchinson with John McGuinness third.

Pauline Jeffries, wife of David Jeffries, gets the race started as Ryan Farquhar is first to take to the course.

Pre-race news:

Paul Hunt, who was injured in yesterday's superbike race, is out of hospital but did not start the race.

Jim Hutchinson has had to retire from this year's event after aggrevating an old rib injury in a fall yesterday.

Reports have been received there are damp areas around the course, including at Glen Helen.


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell