Norasport Championship final from Cadwell Park

Published: 07 November 2007

450 National Championships:
Mick Bertram secured a move after up from the B group with a clear lead from Paul Wilby in race one, but it was Nick Allison who had the fastest lap and then finished in fourth spot.

Nick Allison made his mark early in race two with second spot behind the leader Clive Cheek, and both these riders went unchallenged to move up for the final race. This left Steve Ellis and Matt Perry to take up the first two grid positions for the final race.

It was Stuart Sharpe however who came through to take the final first place trophy of the year. Matt Perry claimed the second place with Steve Ellis in third place.

Dave George was the next rider over the line in fourth position, with a comfortable lead from fifth place Dave Wood.

The first A group race suffered a restart, James Addy had gone with the “plug” for this round of races, and held a firm lead from Shane Hewitt and Bruce Dingle to take the first win.

Bruce Dingle had the early advantage in the second race setting the fasted lap behind first placed James Addy, but James came through to claim the second win also. Darren Warner claimed third position to leave Darren Wells in fourth once again and Chris Harrison in fifth.

The third and final race saw James Addy take the final win of the day and the season as he celebrated his championship win. Bruce Dingle took the second place trophy in the final race which mirrored his championship finish. Darren Wells took excellent points with his second third place finish.

Final Race Results 450A Class
1. James Addy, 2. Shane Hewitt, 3. Darren Wells, 4. Darren Warner, 5. Chris Harrison

Final Race Results 450B Class
1. Stuart Sharp, 2. Matthew Perry, 3. Steve Ellis, 4. Dave George, 5.   Dave Wood    

2007 450 Championship Standings
1. James Addy, 2. Bruce Dingle, 3. William Moore, 4. Darren Warner, 5. Stephen Booth

National Championship:
A Group

Bruce Dingle had been the fastest in qualifying, but off the line in the first race was Kev Drayton. His early lead meant he avoided any incidents behind, as James Addy, Bruce Dingle and Chris Babbitt all had problems.

But back at the front Kev Drayton rode a clear race almost six seconds in front of Chris Harrison to take the first win, while Chris in second place had a clear margin from third placed Will Moore.

Kev Drayton once again had the lead in the second race of the day, though Championship winner James Addy was quick to chase and continued to apply pressure; it was Kevin who had the fastest lap and was determined to hold onto the winning position, coming over the line in first.

Chris Harrison had held third place for a while, but Graham Wiles moved up into third spot with comfortable margin leaving Chris Harrison and Ben Kirkman in fourth and fifth positions. In the final A group race James Addy was out to complete his championship year with a win in the final round and he did just that, Kevin Drayton applied pressure the whole race and even momentarily passed James but this was to be short lived.

Kevin Drayton had the fastest lap once again and after a hard fought and enjoyable race, James Addy took the final win with two tenths of a second in front of a very happy Kevin Drayton. Eight seconds behind the leaders was Bruce Dingle in third position and he had a clear margin from fourth placed Graeme Wiles.

Bruce Dingle has an excellent year and took second place in the championships, eight points in front of Kevin Drayton.

Chris Babbitt had been having a troubled day, but managed to redeem valuable points with a fifth place finish in the final race, securing fourth position in the championship in front of Chris Harrison in fifth.

Final Race Result Open A Group
1. James Addy, 2. Kevin Drayton 3. Bruce Dingle, 4. Graeme Wiles, 5. Chris Babbitt

Final Race Result Open B Group
1. Matthew Perry, 2. Neil Crayston, 3. David Harrison, 4. Richard Blackburn, 5. Steve Ellis

Final Race Result Open C Group
1.  Keith Topliss, 2. Michael Davis, 3. David Auker, 4. Liam Riley, 5. Luke Hough Whelpton

Final Race Result Open D Group
1. Kristopher Norris, 2. Mark Hazelgrove, 3. Callum McGuigan, 4. Richard Camm, 5. Joe Edwards

2007 Nora Sport Open Championship Standings
1.   James Addy, 2. Bruce Dingle, 3. Kevin Drayton, 4. Chris Babbitt, 5. Chris Harrison